Friday, April 13, 2007

November's Meeting Minutes

The November meeting of the Wasatch Beekeepers Association was held November 16, 2006 at Jones Bee, located at 2586 West 500 South, in Salt Lake City, Utah. The meeting was conducted by our president, Joe Grange. Eleven members were present.

Mary Jane Grange read the minutes for October 2006. Maurice Cobo gave the treasurer's report. We have $297.68 in our account at Zions Bank. This is the smallest amount since 1993. Joe and mary Jane Grange felt that we can no longer take refreshment money out of our bank account. Karen Dupaix suggested that we take turns bringing refreshments. We can also put out the "kitty cup" like we used to do. Membership and attendance has declined drastically this year. We were encouraged to bring in new and older members.

The meeting was turned over to Larry Knowlden, program director. We had our yearly banquet of honey baked ham and pot luck items. After dinner, Joe was given an award for his two years of service as President of the Wasatch Beekeepers Association. He served in 2005 and 2006. He was given a belt buckle with a beehive on it. Joe thanked everyone for their assistance for two years.

We then began elections. Larry Knowlden nominated Maurice Cobo for president in 2007. This was seconded by Karen Dupaix. Nominations were closed by Jim Brosius and Joe Grange. All were in favor. Larry Knowlden nominatede Byron Anderson as treasurer. This motion was seconded by Paul Dupaix. Joe Grange made a motion that nominations for treasurer cease. Mary Grange Seconded. all were in favor. Larry Knowlden nominated Karen Dupaix as secretary. This was seconded by Maurice Cobo. Mary Jane Grange made a motion that nominations cease. This was seconded by Jim Brosius. All were in favor. Larry Knowlden nominated Paul Dupaix for Public Relations/Newsletter. This was seconded by Heather Trecker Smith. Jim Brosius closed this motion. All were in favor. Larry Knowlden nominated Mary Jane Grange for Program Director. This was seconded by Karen Dupaix. This motion was closed by Paul Dupaix.

Our officers for 2007 are:
Maruice Cobo - President
Jim Brosius - Vice President
Karen Dupaix - Secretary
Paul Dupaix - Public Relations/Newsletter
Mary Jane Grange - Program Director

We had a drawing for prizes. We then dismissed until January 18, 2007. Utah State Beekeepers convention will be held November 30 and December 1, 2006 at the State Agricultural Building.
Mary Jane Grange,
Secretary, Wasatch Beekeepers Association.

No comments: